Any drunk driving offense is a serious offense that can lead to severe penalties in Oklahoma. If you are facing a felony DUI, the penalties that you are facing are more severe than what a person facing a regular DUI would have to deal with. You should understand some basic points about felony DUI charges in Oklahoma if you are facing one of these charges.
What is a felony DUI?
A felony DUI can occur if you are convicted of a second DUI while you are still under supervision from a previous DUI or if you are convicted of a second DUI within 10 years of the first DUI. A felony DUI conviction carries minimum sentencing requirements.
What are the sentencing requirements?
A person convicted of a felony DUI for the first time would face a minimum of one year in prison and possible fines. It is possible for the court to waive that requirement in lieu of treatment programs with specific requirements. The maximum imprisonment term for a first felony DUI conviction is five years. If you are facing a second felony DUI conviction, you are facing a minimum of one year in prison and a maximum of 10 years in prison. You are also facing community service requirements, an ignition interlock requirement and fines.
All DUI convictions are serious because they affect your driving privileges. If you are facing a DUI charge, especially if it is a felony charge, you should explore the options that are available for your defense. Once you know the possibilities, you can decide how to act.