It is common knowledge that people who haven't yet turned 21 years old are forbidden from consuming alcohol in Oklahoma. There are a few points about being a minor in possession that some people might not realize are actually true in Oklahoma.
Myth 1: Minors can't possess alcohol. While this is true in many cases, there is one notable exception -- minors who are under 21 can possess low-point beer on private property if they are under the supervision of a parent or guardian. The law also notes that the underage person can consume the low-point beer as long as the parent or guardian is present and supervising. The minor can even purchase low-point beer if he or she is being supervised by a parent or guardian.
Myth 2: Minors can't serve alcohol. In Oklahoma, minors can serve alcohol in some instances. If the minor is a server at an establishment, he or she can serve alcohol starting at 18 years old. In that case, the minor wouldn't be charged with minor in possession as long as he or she is working. Bartenders and people who sell alcohol for off-premises consumption have to be 21 years old or older.
Myth 3: Minors get a slap on the wrist for driving after drinking. Oklahoma has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. A minor with more than a .00 blood-alcohol concentration percentage can face charges. A minor who is found in possession of alcohol faces a 180-day license suspension.
Minors who are found in violation of the Oklahoma laws can face very serious penalties. These minors should learn about their options for their defense.
Source: FindLaw, "MIP: A Minor in Possession," accessed Jan. 08, 2016