After a night of drinking with friends, you get behind the wheel of your car to drive home. You don't really think you are drunk. On your way home, you see the flashing lights of a police cruiser. You stop and find yourself being accused of drunk driving. That event starts a series of events that you might find very difficult to deal with.
The fact is that drunk driving cases can greatly impact your life. The penalties of drunk driving convictions in Oklahoma are great. On a first offense, which is a misdemeanor, you face 10 days to one year in jail. You also face having to have an ignition interlock installed, fines of at least $1,000, fees of at least $300, a 180-day license suspension and alcohol abuse assessment and treatment.
We know that might seem harsh; however, people who are facing subsequent DUI convictions within a 10-year period are likely wishing they were only facing those penalties. Oklahoma uses a tiered system for DUI convictions. The first conviction is a misdemeanor, but subsequent convictions are all felonies. The time in jail, fines and other penalties are also increased with subsequent convictions.
If you are facing a DUI charge, you need to get to work on a strategy for fighting the charges or trying to minimize the penalties. It isn't always easy to determine how to handle a DUI case. We can help you scrutinize the case against you so we can determine what options are possible for a defense. You don't want to end up in a criminal trial with a flimsy or nonexistent defense, so start working on the defense today.