Taking off ring

OSU’s Guide to the Six Types of Divorce

A study by Oklahoma State University details the six types of divorce ranging from an emotional divorce to a separation from the marriage psychologically. It is important to acknowledge the full scope of a divorce and the lasting impact it has on families. Continue reading to learn more.

Divorce Statistics

According to a Forbes study, divorce rates have declined slightly over the past decade with the percentage of divorces per year decreasing from 50% to a variable 35% since 2000. Divorce rates are impacted by numerous factors including average income, whether a partner has been married before, and home ownership.

These factors impact divorce rates in the following ways:

  • Only 6% of divorced couples remarry each other but the odds of long-term marriage are higher
  • Most divorcees own their home – 53.4% of people who filed in 2022 owned their home while only 46.6% were renters
  • Third marriages have the highest rate of divorce with 73% of spouses filing for divorce
  • 40% of new marriages include a spouse who has been married before

It is important to note that every relationship is different and while it is possible to gather data about divorce trends, it is impossible to guarantee how a divorce will progress and what the result will be. That is why it is crucial to consult with a qualified attorney about your options.

OSU Study

The Oklahoma State University research publication, Extension, released an article about each type of divorce to provide a comprehensive overview of divorce from the feelings that lead up to the decision to file the petition and coping with post-divorce life.

The publication includes six ‘types’ of divorce that represent phases rather than steps in the divorce process. Relationships are complex and while the entire divorce process – the emotional, lifestyle, and physical processes included – is nuanced, the decision to legally file for divorce is relatively straightforward. It is important to note that a divorce is only official through the legal process.

The Six Types of Divorce

  1. Emotional Divorce: An emotional divorce involves the separation of feelings between spouses. In other words, this is a phase of the relationship where spouses grow apart and may feel a significant emotional distance. This period can last for weeks or years, but it is typically the instigating factor in a formal, legal divorce.
  2. Legal Divorce: This is the lawful end of the marriage in the court system. A legal divorce is the official and lawful end to a marriage. This involves the formal divorce process which includes filing a petition, separating property, settling child custody, and spousal support.
  3. Economic Divorce: This is representative of the property division phase which involves the separation of marital property. This phase can also include appraisals, disputes, and asset recovery.
  4. Co-parental Divorce: This phase involves family changes as a result of divorce. For example, child custody disputes, child support, and parenting plans are a part of co-parental divorce. Of course, not all divorces result in co-parenting. There are situations in which a parent may be unfit to be a co-parent or circumstances prevent co-parenting from happening easily.
  5. Community Divorce: As a result of a divorce, relationships with one’s communities – i.e., friends and family – can change drastically. The process of separating communities takes time and may not always be necessary but a growing distance between mutual friends or the spouse’s family is normal.
  6. Psychological Divorce: For spouses who have been married for a long time, it takes just as long if not longer to accept single life after divorce. Spouses who were married for a shorter period may also have difficulty finding peace after divorce. It is important to recognize that relationships change one’s life and separating can be equally life-altering. It takes time to readjust.

Navigating the Transitional Stage of Divorce

The transition stage of divorce begins when the couple decides to end their marriage or when one spouse visits a divorce attorney. This stage can be emotionally intense, with feelings of anger and sadness often surfacing due to the failure of the marriage.

It is crucial to understand that these emotions are a normal part of the process. Seeking support from professionals, such as a counselor or therapist, can be beneficial during this time. Additionally, it is important to communicate effectively with your attorney to ensure your interests are represented.

The Grief Process in Divorce

Divorce is often likened to experiencing a death, and as such, individuals going through a divorce may experience stages of grief. These stages include shock, denial, bargaining, guilt, anger, depression, and finally, acceptance or hopefulness. Understanding these stages can help individuals process their feelings and move forward.

Divorce is a universally challenging process, but understanding each phase, decision, and action behind it can go a long way toward making sense of the difficult road ahead. Along with understanding, proper guidance is by seeking professional guidance and support, individuals can navigate this difficult time and start a new chapter in their lives.

The best way to ensure that your best interests are preserved is with the help of an attorney. Our attorneys at Nichols Dixon PLLC have the experience and compassion you need to get the future you want. Contact our firm today for more information.